Egg-Less Cookie Dough

Some days are better than others.

Today was shaping up to be one of those “other” kinds of days. My fiance and I recently moved to a new apartment complex, and we are discovering that the entire complex (and some surrounding businesses) are very sensitive to rain. And when I say sensitive, I mean that as soon as drops of rain plop down on the sidewalk the power shuts off. Seeing as how this was the third time that this happened so far, I was getting a little frustrated. And when I’m frustrated, I either clean everything or make “guilty pleasure” food.

I’ve been looking for an excuse to make egg-less cookie dough for awhile now, and this was my cue. So once the power finally came back on a few hours later I grabbed the mixer and my ingredients and whipped up some guilty pleasure in a bowl.

Image

The cookie dough, borrowed from the “Cookies and Cups” blog, uses all of the ingredients you’d put in normal cookie dough, except for the eggs and the baking soda (You could still use baking soda if you think it affects taste, but I didn’t think it was necessary since we don’t need the cookies to rise).

Image

The only chocolate chips I had were Ghiradelli milk chocolate morsels which were quite large, so I decided to cut them all into smaller pieces to make them more “bite size”. I would suggest mini chocolate chips for sure!

Beat the butter (which should be at room temperature, so it creams easily) and sugars until nice and fluffy. Then add the vanilla and water, followed by the flour. I would suggest adding the flour gradually, otherwise it’s going to end up everywhere but in the cookie dough (I failed to take a picture of the mess as I was too busy trying to clean it up…)

The last step is to stir in the chocolate chips. You can also add whatever else you want, like mini m&m’s, finely chopped candy chunks, peanut butter chips, really anything that suits your fancy. Image

I like my cookie dough cold, so I put it in a cute bowl and refrigerated it until it was chilled (freezers work if you’re impatient!). You can eat it with a spoon, put it on graham crackers, or take it one step further and make cookie dough truffles, like Bakerella did with her cookie dough. You could even fold it into semi-melted ice cream and refreeze it to make cookie dough ice cream! The possibilities are endless.

Whatever you decide to do with your egg-less cookie dough, you can rest assured that it will turn your day from one of those “other” kinds of days to something better. It did mine!

Egg-less Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

1/2 cup of unsalted butter at room temperature

1/2 cup white sugar

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/2 tablespoon vanilla

2 tablespoons of water

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/4 cups flour

1 cup chocolate chips etc to taste

Beat the butter and sugars in a bowl until creamy. Add the salt, vanilla, and water, and mix on medium for two minutes. On LOW, mix in the flour gradually, 1/2 cup at a time, just until combined. Stir in your toppings. Devour. Store in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks. Makes about 2 cups of cookie dough.

 

Leave a comment